Stark County, North Dakota Area

Area Coordinator: Volunteer Needed

Date Formed: The county was organized May 25, 1883, by H.L. Dickinson, James Collister, and James G. Campbell, commissioners (Source: 1884 Andreas Atlas).

County Seat: Dickinson

Cities, townships and historical communities:  Antelope, Belfield, Dickinson, Gaylord, Gladstone, Lehigh, Richardton, South Heart, Taylor, and Zenith


Name Type Source
Stark Co, Township 137 N., Range 97 W. Map HR 10-1, pg. 4, 1980
Antelope, Stark Co., ND Village History HR 16, pg 31, 1976
Stone House - Dickinson ND Dakotas - History HR 19-3, pg. 10, 1989

Books: (Available at GRHS Library)

  • Centennial roundup: a history of Dickinson, North Dakota
  • Historical review of Richardton, N. D.
  • Richardton heritage: a history of Richardton, North Dakota
  • Stark County heritage and destiny
Cemetery Location
Some For Members OnlyCemeteries - Transcriptions
Belfield Cemetery Belfield
Belfield Lutheran Cemetery Belfield
Christ Lutheran Cemetery  
Daglum Cemetery New England
Dickinson Cemetery Dickinson
Gladstone Cemetery Gladstone
Gladstone Non-Catholic Cemetery Gladstone
Immanuel Cemetery Dickinson
Our Lady of Lourdes Cemetery rural Belfield
Pioneer Cemetery south of Taylor
Pioneer Cemetery SE of Gladstone
St. Bernard's Cemetery Belfield
St. Elizabeth's Cemetery Lefor
St. John's Lutheran Cemetery Richardton
St. John's Ukrainian Catholic Cemetery Belfield
St. Joseph's Cemetery Dickinson
St. Mary's Cemetery Richardton
St. Mary's Cemetery South Heart
St. Patrick's Cemetery Dickinson
St. Pius Cemetery Schelfield
St. Stephen's Cemetery Gladstone
St. Thomas Cemetery Gladstone
St. Wenceslaus Cemetery Dickinson
Taylor Cemetery Taylor

For Members Only Genealogy Database:    Includes photos, headstone photos and other resources. 


Maps: GRHS Online Map Collection

For Members OnlySearch the Letter Archives for towns in Stark County

Websites relating to Stark County: